8 January 1845

2014 marks the 170th anniversary of the Rochdale Equitable Pioneers Society.  To celebrate this special anniversary the Pioneers 170 blog will guide you through the Pioneers’ first year.

07bThough George Ashworth was originally put in charge of the keys, at this meeting they are transferred to John Holt. The other business at this meeting is new members and candidates: Abraham Butterworth and Charles Shaw are admitted as members, and Samuel Shore (wool sorter, Healy-Hall-Bottoms) and Andrew Pilling (warper, Sudden Brow) are proposed as candidates.

This is the first time the minutes have been taken by Charles Howarth, the new President.

Follow the Pioneers through their first year by-

Following us on twitter and searching for the hashtag #Pioneers170

Liking our facebook page

Following us on instagram and searching for the hashtag #Pioneers170

You can also find out about the Pioneers 170 Christmas Celebration on Wednesday 17 December 2014