7 April 1845

10b2014 marks the 170th anniversary of the Rochdale Equitable Pioneers Society.  To celebrate this special anniversary the Pioneers 170 blog will guide you through the Pioneers’ first year.

At this meeting, Joshua Hague becomes a member, and five candidates are proposed: John Holt (slubber, Shawclough), James Green (weaver, Mitchel Hey), John Ratcliffe (spinner, Regent Street), Squire Lord (slubber, John Street) and John Simpson (weaver, Rope Street).

John Bent is retiring as auditor, so John Kershaw is appointed to be his replacement.

Follow the Pioneers through their first year by-

Following us on twitter and searching for the hashtag #Pioneers170

Liking our facebook page

Following us on instagram and searching for the hashtag #Pioneers170

You can also find out about the Pioneers 170 Christmas Celebration on Wednesday 17 December 2014