22 August 1844

2014 marks the 170th anniversary of the Rochdale Equitable Pioneers Society.  To celebrate this special anniversary the Pioneers 170 blog will guide you through the Pioneers’ first year.

02a (2)

The minutes for the third meeting begin with a list of those present, including John Holt, James Daly, James Tweedale, James Bamford, James Holt, William Taylor, John Smithies and Charles Howarth. The main order of business is the decision that an officers’ register will be taken at 8.15, and if anyone is not present they will be fined. Assuming the meetings started on the hour, this gives officers fifteen minutes grace before they are declared late and charged.

Follow the Pioneers through their first year by-

Following us on twitter and searching for the hashtag #Pioneers170

Liking our facebook page

Following us on instagram and searching for the hashtag #Pioneers170

You can also find out about the Pioneers 170 Christmas Celebration on Wednesday 17 December 2014